How you can learn more about using engaging storytelling – Chris’s 3-word solution

Chris Adams – Hollywood and Facebook exec – storyteller

Chris Adams reckons it’s easy to understand how you can use storytelling to engage audiences.

His answer is 3 words  — Watch Star Wars!

I was stoked to hear this as I am a big fan of Star Wars! You can hear my positive reaction in the Chris video.

Both my son and I are big Star Wars fans. Got this cool Star Wars T-shirt at a sci-fi convention!

This video is a follow-up to his Whiteboard Session # 1 about story telling (video at the end of this post).

We let Chris loose in front of a whiteboard – and many of you liked the way he explained story arcs and structure – and we will definitely video more Whiteboard sessions!

In this follow-up Chris tells how he will be using the Whiteboard Session #1 as inspiration for a chapter he is writing in a new book on social media – It’s That Easy – Online Marketing 3.0

My experience from working with Chris is that he knows a lot about storytelling, business, and social media. When we record videos we capture him talking about certain issues and topics. This forces Chris to focus and crystalize that expertise and we capture it.

He didn’t know it at the time we recorded that Whiteboard Session #1 – but it ended up being useful for him to. It will form the foundation of his chapter in the book.

In this follow-up Chris talks about:

  • How his mission in life is to make the  “artsy” word storytelling acceptable in the more hard-nosed business world
  • How brands need to understand what is EPIC and the hero’s journey
  • How one of the best ways to understand EPIC and the hero’s journey is easy – Watch Star Wars.

In a future Whiteboard Session we will get Chris to illustrate the Star Wars storytelling.

Both Chris and I are from the generation that would have watched Star Wars when it first came out at the movies.

My son at a Sci-fi convention! I’m taking the photo – not in one of the costumes – honest!

I for one am certainly looking forward to that Whiteboard Session! I’ll keep you updated about the progress of the book too!

Here’s a link to the first Whiteboard session on Story Telling – if you missed it or if you’d like to see it again.

If you are new to this blog

Who is writing this?

I’m Tony Biancotti – an Australian  journalist turned communication consultant and I learn lots from former Hollywood exec and Facebook exec Chris Adams (who now lives in Brisbane). Chris and I catch up every month or so and I capture his views (on business, presenting, pitching etc) on camera. I write the text (my opinion)  in these posts and Chris gives his opinion in the video.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: How you can creatively cross-pollinate and “connect the dots” « I Wanna Be Creative!
  2. Pingback: How you can creatively cross-pollinate and connect the dots with multiple projects « Chris Adams Project (CAP)
  3. Pingback: How to get things done under deadline pressure #1 « Chris Adams Project (CAP)
  4. Pingback: Grace under (deadline) pressure – the Hemingway peak time technique « I Wanna Be Creative!
  5. Pingback: Getting things done under deadline pressure Part 2 – Grace under Deadline Pressure « Chris Adams Project (CAP)

Leave a Reply

